I went to the bible sharing session last Wednesday night. Even though only a few turned up, it didn’t stop the bible sharing session from going on…

Perhaps before my own sharing on what I thought on the topic, I should let you have a read that the reading that day.

Reading

Ok. The title of the reading was ‘True Disciples’

Frankly when Scholestica read the reading out, I didn’t really managed to concentrate… Perhaps it was because I was tired, perhaps it was kind of hard to grasp the meaning of the reading and how it was reflected in my life… It wasn’t until Arthur did his sharing that I started grasping the meaning of the reading.

If you had read the reading (link above), perhaps you will come to the same question which I had… Which was… What makes a True Disciple?

Jesus was preaching to the Jews that only by remaining in His words will they be true disciples and be set free… And the crowd responded by saying that they were never enslaved, so why they not free…?

This particular phrase got me thinking… In the world now… How many of us are truly free? How many of us can confidently say that they are not chained down… That they are ‘free people’…? At least I don’t think so I am one of those free people…

Everyday, I felt that I’m clung down by my obligations, the things I do, the challenges I face, the feelings of mine, etc… I felt burdened with what I have to do to get through my life… I may feel lost at time… Unsure of what to do or what could be done… So… Am I free?

Jesus replied them that whoever that commit sins are slaves of sins and hence not free at all… But I don’t think that sins are all that enslave us nowadays… How many of us got enslaved by what’s around us? By excitement, by food (like me), by our addictions…? I think if we are enslaved by those menial things, we couldn’t be called as free people… Then how can we be free???

Then I thought some more of the times when I felt free… Felt free of worries… Felt happy as if there is nothing that will bring my world down at that time… But those particular sessions were also short-lived…

Many of us may also have the wrong perception on freedom… Freedom when we arrived in University… Finally out of the place where we had lived for the more than half of our life… But then that isn’t the freedom which Jesus means… Neither is the freedom which you felt after examination… Or after finishing your Final Year Project…

And then I thought of my life thus far… From studying hard from secondary school… To fulfilling obligations attending class and labs in University… From being engulfed in troublesome conditions and challenges, to being tested to do the right thing everywhere… I felt myself chained down daily… Doing things that now seemed trivial and meaningless… Perhaps what we comprehend as important in this life will never be permanent… And that sooner or later, we will be chained down again… Unable to find that freedom that most of us longed for…

What I think Jesus meant in that reading is eternal freedom… Where you won’t be clung down anymore by your daily life… And as He said it… “If you remain in my word, you will truly be my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”… Perhaps if we really remain in His words, we will be able to find true freedom. But what does it mean to remain in His words?… Perhaps giving ourselves totally to Him… Not partially but rather… In whole… And perhaps through that, we will be able to slowly discover the freedom that we are looking for.

Well, that what I get from the short bible sharing that we had… Perhaps my interpretation of the reading may not be accurate at all… But this is just a sharing of what I felt… I hope it wasn’t too bad since it’s really a first time for me to be doing this…

And the second half of the reading seems a bit hard to comprehend that I don’t really understand what it means… Anyone mind to clarify with me what that means?

