I got a new HP laptop recently (I’ll blog about it after I got used to it a little)… And when I was buying it I noticed the advertisement  for HP ‘Get Your Hands on It With HP‘ promotion which featured a free redeemable 1GB MP3 and a ‘Spot the differences’ like contest where the Grand Prize is an expensive watch…

Seeing as how my sister always wanted an MP3, I decided that after redeeming this MP3, I’ll give it to her. So begins my journey to redeem the gift.

HP Redemption Center is located somewhere within Kelana Jaya at the Kelana Center Point. I had to take 2 bus rides, 4 trains and 2 taxis to get there and back since I rather be safe than lost in unknown lands. It took me around two hours to finally reach this place (No real thanks to K17 KTM bus which was late half hour and the congested public transport)

HP Free MP31
~The Goodyear building in Kelana Center Point with HP redemption center inside it~

HP Free MP32
~The only sign showing Wisma Goodyear which I saw… Lucky I went by taxi~

The lady there was very fast in handling the redemption process and the whole process took no more than 10 minutes (Compare that to the 4 hours journey I have to get there and back)…

And walah~~

HP Free MP33
~Honestly… I like the casing more than whatever’s inside~

Now let me tell you what was inside…

HP Free MP34
~The MP3~

HP Free MP38
~The earphones~

And an installation cd… And that was it… Yes… I kid you not… That was all…

Now before you start thinking what wrong with having just these 3 in the case… Let me remind you of one very important thing normally found bundled together with MP3… The charger!!!

There wasn’t a charger in there… Oh… Maybe its a charger-less MP3 which runs on rechargeable batteries you say… Ok… Lets move on a bit…

I was definitely intrigued by the lack of a charger… But significantly pleased with another thing… The MP3 is shiny… A plus point… And tiny… Another definite plus point…

HP Free MP35
~Yup… Thats my thumb and the MP3 must be about the same size as the whole of my thumb~

HP Free MP36
~I like how the USB head looks like also… I seems to be very futuristic~

But then it dawned on me that it was impossible to fit a battery into something this small… And so I ransacked the casing once more… There wasn’t any instruction manual… And thus I did what I can with the installation CD and in it there was a read-me which explains on method to charge it…

When battery is low… Blue light on MP3 will blink quickly ‘1/4S on and 1/4s off’ (Should be in seconds) and to charge it… Connect to USB and the light will blink quickly (Same rate) and when fully charge the light will stay on…

:sweats: Impressive right..?

So I tried to look for the blinking blue light… And noticed one more thing… There was no ‘on’ button on the MP3…

HP Free MP37
~These are the only two switches on the player~

And finally when I figure out how to turn it on… The blue light was seen… Apparently… You’ll have to plug in the earphones to turn it on… That’s quite impressive…

HP Free MP311
~The blue light…~

And I tried putting some songs in it and listening to it… Audio sound is decent at best… Nothing spectacular or what… And I thought it was the earphones fault so I thought of changing it to the earphone I often used (A better type earphone) and this happens…

HP Free MP312
~Can’t fit lar woi~

Apparently this MP3 doesn’t use the universal standard sized earphone plug… Which is another down-point since it will be frustrating to look for an earphone like that…

HP Free MP310
~Size matters you see…~

All in all… I like the design of the MP3 but I am terribly disappointed by its non-user friendly interface… (There wasn’t any LCD display some more)… And I’m often not the type to complain over free gifts but I do think that a well known company like HP should do better even in providing free gifts… And not some types of out-of-date, made-in-China MP3… Lets just hope that future ‘free-gifts’ are not so substandard…

*And honestly I don’t think I’ll give this to my sister… She’ll be lost since the user interface is really none friendly… I rather get a better one for her…*

