Today, Wednesday and Thursday… The busiest…~~

Today is the day of running and asking for help…

Why?

I had a list of things to do drawn up earlier today… And the list was long~~

After skipping class and finishing my forcefeeding (and found another dead).. I rushed to vet faculty to settle the items for request of service… Then went to go for Japanese class… which was cancelled… And then went back to faculty… to have lunch… Then comes the part where I tried to complete everything on my list…

Moved essential items from 5th floor lab to ground floor lab for tomorrow final treatment and dissection… Things include containers, syringes, tubes, needles, diethyl ether and formalin when I found out that the formalin I was suppose to get from someone got dirty and couldn’t be used. And then found out that the tubes I had couldn’t fit in the ground floor centrifuge… And then the worst is found out that my cosup still expect me to do tissue freezing which was the biggest problem since I didnt have the item to do this at all. And the time was… 4.30pm (they off work at 5pm)

And hence start the running around.

1. to settle the formalin… Went to see a lab assistant in HistoLab and clarify with her the correct way of preparing it. Luckily she was in and the whole thing took a few minutes only.

2. to settle the problems with the tubes… Went to HaemaLab to ask if I could borrow their centrifuge on Thursday and Friday or not… The lights are off but luckily one of the RA is still around… Getting ready to leave… Was relieved to find out that the tube can be used there… So obtained forms and settled the tube problem.

3.the biggest problem… freezing… What I tot: I was suppose to obtain a portion of the organ and fixed it with formalin… and thats done… What my cosup meant: Obtain the portion of the organ… Fix with formalin… and then freeze the remaining organs with liquid nitrogen and store at -80 degress freezer… There are a few problems here though… Which was… I had no experience in doing tissue freezing … and … I had no liquid nitrogen… and … I have no freezer… And this was when I started to panic… Ran around trying to ask ppl who got liquid nitrogen and who knows what to do… Referred to the RA at AnaLab which explain roughly to me… Then referred to AhTong at ImmLab who told me to refer to Yp of ImmLab as well… Yp was my saviour in explaining… He said that all to be done is to dip the organ into the liquid nitrogen and its done. Then the liquid nitrogen… I’ve messaged Mitsuki-chibichan of BcheLab, Anie of BmedLab and Lkuan of PhyLab. Annie gave a positive response saying that her lab has a freezer… While waiting for reply, RA of AnaLab told me that there was some liquid nitrogen up at MobioLab… Which I quickly rushed to… Saw Vsu there with Wee2 who referred me to another master student… Who said that its ok for me to use it… Thank God… Was suppose to find container to use for transporting it to AnaLab… but Han says can do it at MobioLab… Another saviour… So liquid nitrogen thing is somewhat solved… Then the freezer… Tipoff by Anie sent me running to BmedLab at which I saw Dren who introduced me to the freezer there… Thank God again I can use it. But Dren condition for tomorrow is that we must pass the item before 3pm… Since he’s leaving at 3pm. But nevertheless… I found a way to do it… And it was an hour before that I was sighing, thinking that its impossible… Thanks to everyone…

Wednesday~~~ Forecast

RACE against time…

Original plan was to do treatment at 9am…Sacrifice at 1pm (4hrs later) and then do puncture, dissection and freezing till 6pm…

Current plan due to the 3pm deadline means that I’ll have to push everything as early as possible… Starting to prepare media at 8.00am… Treatment at 8.30am… Sacrifice at 12.30pm… And puncture, and dissect and freezing before 3.00pm… Which is almost impossible… Dead…. Its the race against time… Really a race… Die~~ Can anyone help me??

~~

Picture taken of sunset at UPM from my flat house…

Nice?~~~

