Was going about my usual routine of attending class + preparing extract + force feeding rats + attending the 2 papers I had today (not to mention studying for it since Yours Truly fell asleep before he finished studying last nite)… Little that I know that I had a great big and somewhat unwanted surprise waiting for me…

There I was… Finishing the 1st cage of rats I’m suppose to force feed, put it back… take the 2nd cage… and stared in horror…

OMG~~~~

It wasn’t a dead rat

It wasn’t a sick rat

But the shock is still bigger than what the two above could have meant…

~

~

I looked into the cage…

And I saw this

~

~

~

I blinked… Then look again…

Its still there…

OMG!!! Whose pups are these??? OMG OMG OMG !!!

How can my rats be PREGNANT???

I thought they were all suppose to be MALES!!!

Then I look again…

And I caught the suspect… RED HANDED!!!

This … Ladies and gentlemen… Is a female rat… Which is found in my cage…. And it is the one who gave birth~~~ How on Earth did a female rat got into my cage… Filled with male rats??

She wanted to give birth in the Year of the RAT is it?

Now you all can call me Grandpa Rat since my kids gave birth…

No wonder the rats in that cage look so tired at times… They’ve been up doing sex all nite long is it ??

OMG was the only word that came into my mind over and over again…

OMG~~~ How did it happen….? OMG…~~~

And slowly… the events one month ago began to unveil itself…

:One month ago:

I was changing the bedding for the cage for a group of the rats… When suddenly… I spotted a white rat on top of the cage which was sitting next to my cage of rats… Thinking that one of my rats has escaped… I did the most foolish thing I could have done throughout the whole project period… I picked it up and put it into my cage~~

A while later… While looking into my cage… I counted the rats (a normal practice I have to make sure everyone was there) … One, two, three, four, five….. SIX??? How can it be six when there was only supposed to be 5…Then I realized that the rat I found couldnt be mine… and might have escaped from another cage on the floor… So… I open up my cage… And simply took out one of the rat and place it into the other cage… And the whole idea of checking for its sex didnt occur to me as I didnt mark any of my rats yet…

And the result of this whole mistake…

:I’m not sure which cage I put my male rat into at the time… But I’m sure that he must have enjoyed living in a cage filled with females… And a really really big sorry to whosoever female rats that I have impregnanted with my male rat. It was my mistake… Sorry:

The thought of me possibly ruining another person’s project is terrible… Really truly terribly sorry…

I was really speechless when I remembered what happened…

The male rats in the cage kept quiet also… Refusing to admit to anything…

~~

And they just keep quiet…

~~

So I came out with a plan… If I ever have to work with rats again after this… The first thing I’m going to teach them… is this…

:picture above was taken by Annie:

So that stuff like this don’t happen anymore…

